Frankreich 2012, 100 min
Regie: Christophe Barratier

“You shoesticks!”. The children of the neighboring villages Longeverne and Velrans have always fought without mercy. But nobody can put up with this insult – that means war! Lebrac, leader of the Longeverne gang, devises a special stratagem: they off all the buttons of the clothes of their prisoners – defeated and humiliated, they are sure of the trouble at home. And the fight now has a name: War of the Buttons.

When the pretty Violette returns to the village, the carefree nature of the war game suddenly becomes serious. For in March 1944, the great war is also coming to fruition in southern France. Violette, actually called Myriam, is Jewish and is threatened by a betrayal. Now it is important to stick together! The children and the parents from the warring villages now have no choice but to ally themselves and stand together on the right side …

The captivating adventure story tells of friends and enemies, of winning and losing, of children and adults – WAR OF BUTTONS is a cult hit. And once again: director Christophe Barratier has reinterpreted the children’s book classic with a lot of action, humor and great emotions. The novel by Louis Pergaud, who described his childhood memories with “War of the Buttons: The novel of my twelfth year of life”, was also the inspiration for Yves Robert’s 1962 story.

Barratier, whose film THE CHILDREN OF MONSIEUR MATHIEU had more than a million enthusiastic audiences in Germany alone, moves the action back to 1944: even in southern France, the threat posed by the Nazis becomes a tangible reality, giving history a surprising turn. Before that, the guys around the charismatic Lebrac and the crafty Aztec have to prove warlike skill and strategy, experience friendship and betrayal, but also the first great love …

The WAR OF BUTTONS is great cinema for the whole family with Laetitia Casta, Guillaume Canet, Kad Merad and Gérard Jugnot. The real stars of the exciting adventure story, however, are the kids!

Now on DVD, Blu Ray and VoD

iTunes Amazon

Frankreich 2012, 100 min
Regie: Christophe Barratier

„Ihr Schlappschwänze!“. Schon immer bekämpfen sich die Kinder der Nachbardörfer Longeverne und Velrans ohne Gnade. Doch diese Beschimpfung kann sich keiner gefallen lassen – das bedeutet Krieg! Lebrac, Anführer der Longeverne-Bande, ersinnt eine besondere Kriegslist: den Gefangenen werden alle Knöpfe ihrer Kleidung abgeschnitten – besiegt und gedemütigt ist ihnen auch noch der Ärger zu Hause sicher. Und der Kampf hat jetzt einen Namen: Krieg der Knöpfe.

Als die hübsche Violette neu ins Dorf kommt, wird aus der Unbekümmertheit des Kriegsspiels plötzlich Ernst. Denn im März 1944 hält auch in Südfrankreich der große Krieg Einzug. Eigentlich heißt Violette Myriam, ist Jüdin und wird durch einen Verrat bedroht. Jetzt gilt es zusammenzuhalten! Die Kinder und die Eltern aus den verfeindeten Dörfern haben nun keine andere Wahl, als sich zu verbünden und gemeinsam auf der richtigen Seite zu stehen…

Die fesselnde Abenteuergeschichte erzählt von Freunden und Feinden, vom Siegen und Verlieren, von kleinen und großen Kindern – KRIEG DER KNÖPFE ist Kult. Und endlich wieder da: Regisseur Christophe Barratier hat mit viel Action, Witz und großen Gefühlen den Kinderbuchklassiker neu verfilmt. Der Roman von Louis Pergaud, der mit „Krieg der Knöpfe: Der Roman meines zwölften Lebensjahres“ seine Kindheitserinnerungen schilderte, war auch schon Vorlage für Yves Roberts Erfolgsfilm von 1962.
Barratier, dessen Film DIE KINDER DES MONSIEUR MATHIEU allein in Deutschland über eine Million begeisterte Zuschauer hatte, verlegt die Handlung in das Jahr 1944: auch in Südfrankreich wird die Bedrohung durch die Nazis spürbare Realität und gibt der Geschichte eine überraschende Wendung. Davor müssen die Jungs um den charismatischen Lebrac und den schlauen Aztec kriegerisches Geschick und Strategie beweisen, erleben Freundschaft und Verrat, aber auch die erste große Liebe…

Der KRIEG DER KNÖPFE ist großes Kino für die ganze Familie mit Laetitia Casta, Guillaume Canet, Kad Merad und Gérard Jugnot. Stars der spannenden Abenteuergeschichte sind jedoch die großartigen Kinder!

Jetzt auf DVD, Blu Ray und als VoD

iTunes Amazon