Who let the dogs out? | WUFF

“The essence of the film lies in the phrase “it’s not all about you!” and dogs help us to realise this”

So said WUFF director Detlev Buck (BIBI & TINA). Since it’s not all about us humans, some introductions to the real stars of the show are in hand. And who better to do them than the trainer of the dogs herself, Carola Conrad?

Carola has been in the business since 1988 and works in equal measure for cinema, TV and theatre. Dog-training is her speciality, but she also works with chickens, cows and even pigs. According to her, every dog in WUFF is different, with a unique nature. Moreover, the dogs have leading roles in the film and carry the story forward at crucial moments: “Buck has formed real characters, both from people and dogs”.

 

Meet the four-legged stars of WUFF 

Name: Bozer
Breed: Schnauzer cross
Age: Probably 2 years old
Character: Inquisitive, loyal, charming

Life: After an intense search, Carola met the half-breed in Poland. He seemed to be a stray, who has repeatedly run away from his owners. Bozer was immediately very open and responsive, except for when he took advantage of the slightest pause in filming to try and make a getaway. This is a quality he has carried through into the film. A lot of training was necessary in order to avoid him making a run for it on shoot.

“Ella’s dog Bozer loved doing the action scenes. The scenes in the wood were particularly exciting for him, where he calls the ranger for help, in order to rescue Ella. He has to run between two cars – in the front the car with the camera and Carola, and behind the car with the ranger. Bozer has to be very precise with the timings, although this was only in the second week of filming. I was really proud that he managed it! Even if he had just had to run the hut and bark at the door to fetch the forester, that would have required a lot of concentration! I think he feels like Lassie!”

Name: Simpson
Real Name: Toshi
Breed: Saint Bernard 
Age: 8 years old
Character: Reliable, loving, clever, confident 

Life: Toshi came to Carola at the age of eight weeks. Carola actually wanted to find a female from a fresh litter, but Toshi pushed his way to the front and signalled, that he was ready to begin his film career. He didn’t need much teaching: after a year and a half he began his work with the children’s series LÖWENZAHN, where he delighted children for six years at the side of Fritz Fuchs (played by Guido Hammesfahr).

“Toshi, the good-natured dog of Cecile and Max, brought his experience and calmness to the family scenes. Nico, Cecile’s son, could really play with him, lolling around with him and hugging him as much as he wanted – Toshi always stayed relaxed.”

Name: Elfriede
Breed: Great Dane
Age: 2 years old
Character: cuddly, greedy, inquisitive, cheeky 

Life: Elfriede was meant to be a breeding dog, and was discovered for the film when she came to Carola’s dog-school. She was very headstrong, jumping over tables and benches, and didn’t like being alone. She was searching for new challenges. These she found in WUFF, her first film role. She is not exactly the cleverest, but her appetite is legendary which makes it relatively easy to get to learn something new when you’ve got treats at the ready.

“For Elfriede, the shoot with Katharine Thalbach in the hospital was huge fun. Both characters got on well, and are a bit crazy so their interaction was really funny and full of life.”

 

Name: Berta
Real Name: Marnie – names after a film by Alfred Hitchcock
Breed: Vizsla
Age: Nearly 3 years old 
Character: Clever, uncertain, likes being on set

Life: Marnie came with her owner to Carola’s dog-school. WUFF is her first feature film. It was Marnie’s beauty, above all, that captured Carola. And it then turned out that she was keen to join in.

 

 

DCM will be bringing WUFF to German cinemas on 25. October 2018, and to Switzerland on 01. November 2018.

Who let the dogs out? | WUFF

„Mit Hunden kann man nicht diskutieren, das ist schön, entweder sie machen es oder nicht.“ 

Regisseur Detlev Buck

So sagt es WUFF-Regisseur Detlev Buck (zuletzt erfolgreich mit den BIBI & TINA-Filmen). Da es nicht nur um uns Menschen geht, stellen wir hier die echten Stars des Films vor. Und wer könnte das besser machen, als die Hundetrainerin Carola Conrad?!

Carola ist seit 1988 im Geschäft und arbeitet für Kino, Fernsehen und Theater gleichermaßen. Hundetraining ist ihr Spezialgebiet, doch sie bringt auch Hühnern, Kühen und sogar Schweinen die nötige Leinwandpräsenz bei.

Laut ihr ist jeder Hund in WUFF anders, ein ganz eigenes Wesen. Zudem haben die Hunde absolut tragende Rollen im Film und führen an den wirklich entscheidenden Stellen die Geschichte fort: „Buck hat richtige Charaktere geformt, aus den Menschen und den Hunden“.

Die echten Stars aus WUFF

Name: Bozer
Rasse: Mischling mit Schnauzer
Alter: vermutlich 2 Jahre
Eigenschaften: neugierig, loyal, charmant

Vita: Nach einer intensiven Suche hat Carola den aufweckten Mischling in Polen kennengelernt. Er wurde ihr als Streuner präsentiert, der immer wieder vor seinen Besitzern getürmt ist. Bozer war direkt sehr offen und zugänglich, nur dass er immer wieder die Gunst der Stunde nutzte, um abzuhauen. Diese Eigenschaft hat er sich auch in WUFF bewahrt. Für Carola war allerdings viel Training nötig, um zu verhindern, dass sich das Schlitzohr beim Dreh aus dem Staub machen konnte.

„Ellas Hund Bozer mochte zum Beispiel die Actionszenen sehr gerne. Richtig spannend für ihn war die Szene nachts im Wald, wo er den Förster zur Hilfe holt, um Ella zu retten. Er musste zwischen zwei Autos rennen: Vorne auf dem Wagen die Kamera und Carola, hinter ihm der Wagen vom Förster. Bozer musste sehr präzise das Tempo halten, obwohl er erst in der zweiten Drehwoche war. Ich war richtig stolz, dass er das geschafft hat! Auch wenn er zur Hütte rennt und an der Tür bellt, um den Förster zu holen, hat er vollen Einsatz gebracht. Ich glaube, er fühlte sich wie Lassie!“

Name: Simpson
Echter Name: Toshi
Rasse: Berner Sennenhund
Alter: 8 Jahre
Eigenschaften: Verlässlich, macht die Dinge aus Liebe, klug, souverän

Vita: Toshi kam im Alter von acht Wochen zu Carola. Eigentlich wollte Carola sich ein Mädchen aus einem frischen Wurf aussuchen, aber Toshi hat sich direkt vorgedrängelt und signalisiert, dass er bereits ein Auge auf seine Filmkarriere geworfen hat. Dazu brauchte er dann auch nicht viel Erziehung: Mit anderthalb Jahren begann seine Arbeit bei der Kinderserie LÖWENZAHN, wo er sechs Jahre an der Seite von Fritz Fuchs (gespielt von Guido Hammesfahr) die Kinder begeisterte.

„Toshi, dem gutmütigen Hund von Cecile und Max, kamen bei den Familienszenen seine Erfahrung und Gelassenheit voll zu Gute. Nico, Ceciles Sohn, konnte wirklich mit ihm spielen, ihn wuscheln und knuddeln so viel er wollte – Toshi blieb immer die Ruhe selbst.“

Name: Elfriede
Rasse: französische Dogge
Alter: gerade 2 Jahre geworden
Eigenschaften: schmusig, verfressen, neugierig, frech

Vita: Elfriede sollte eine Zuchthündin werden und wurde vom Film entdeckt, als sie bei Carola in die Hundeschule kam. Sie war sehr eigensinnig, sprang über Tische und Bänke und war nicht gerne allein. Sie suchte förmlich nach neuen Herausforderungen. Diese fand sie dann in WUFF, ihrer ersten Filmrolle. Sie ist nicht unbedingt die Klügste, aber ihr Appetit ist legendär und macht es mit den entsprechenden Belohnungen relativ einfach, ihr etwas Neues beizubringen.

„Für die Dogge Elfriede war der Dreh mit Katharina Thalbach im Krankenhaus ein Riesenspaß. Sie mochten sich einfach – Beide Figuren sind ein bisschen abgedreht und dadurch in ihrem Zusammenspiel sehr lustig und lebendig.“

Name: Berta
Echter Name: Marnie – benannt nach dem Film von Alfred Hitchcock
Rasse: Vizsla – eine alte ungarische Jagdhundrasse
Alter: Bald 3 Jahre alt

Eigenschaften: klug, unsicher, setzt sich gern in Szene

Vita: Marnie ist mit ihrer Besitzerin in der Hundeschule von Carola. WUFF ist ihr erster Spielfilm. Zunächst war es vor allem ihre Schönheit, die bestach. Dann stellte sich aber heraus, dass sie gerne mitmachte.

 


DCM bringt WUFF am 25. Oktober 2018 in die Deutschen und am 31. Oktober 2018 in die Schweizer Kinos.